Hangul and stinky tofu

It has been a while since I last wrote here. I might as well restart matters with a brief update.

Summer was full of activities and travel. After giving a course at the summer school on analytic number theory at IHES, I went to Korea for most of August (ANTS and of course the ICM). Then I went back to Paris and got the keys to my new office at IMJ (Paris VI/VII), where I will be from now on as a CNRS Directeur de recherche. The office is in the Paris VII campus, close to the Bibliothèque Nationale and, most importantly, the Cinémathèque.

… and then I left for Saint Petersburg, to spend a trimester there as a Lamé Chair. During that time, I was offered a Humboldt Professorship (at Göttingen) , which I am now considering.

MathGoetsmall

I have been back in Paris since late December, after relatively brief trips to Perú and the Czech Republic. I also managed to lose the keys to my office in the interval. It took a very long time to get another set of keys.

On a different note – my survey paper on growth in groups got accepted; it is about to appear. I also spent a great deal of time rewriting my proof of the Ternary Goldbach Conjecture – it is now in an essentially self-contained monograph. Besides adding expository material, I simplified some parts of the proof – notably the part on parabolic cylinder functions.

I have some partial drafts of planned blog posts from the last few months. Let me include here a brief set of impressions from my Korea trip. I did this in French, just to keep my chops up.


Ma première conférence en Corée a eu lieu – comme il est habituel dans certains pays – dans un hôtel, quelque peu isolé du reste de la ville de Gyeongju. En route de la gare, il était possible de voir un autre visage de la Corée que celui d’un pays hautement industrialisé; au fait, des parties de Gyeongju ressemblent à certaines villes de province d’un pays en développement, avec une intense activité commerciale conduite dans des petits locaux d’aspect plutôt pauvre. L’hôtel, au bord d’un lac, était luxueux, au moins dans ce que concernait ses espaces communs; il portait le nom d’un des conglomérats qui dominent la vie économique du pays. Après peut-être une demi-heure, j’ai eu envie de partir et voir un peu du monde hors ses murs. Pour être précis: je suis parti avec l’intention de trouver du 청국장 – c’est-à-dire, le fameux tofu puant coréen.

Je disposait de peut-être dix mots de coréen. Heureusement, le chauffeur du taxi commandé par l’hôtel n’était pas seulement un homme de bonne volonté, mais aussi très expressif, au point que j’arrivais à croire que je comprénnais une petite partie de ce qu’il me disait. Il m’a laissé à l’entrée d’un petit restaurant traditionnel qui n’avait pas du tofu puant. Là, quelqu’un m’a dirigé vers ce qui s’est avéré être un atelier semi-urbain où, à juger par un odeur très prometteur, du tofu puant était fabriqué. Malheureusement, l’atelier était fermé.

cheonggukjang

J’ai retrouvé le taxi, lequel reprenait sa route vers la ville. Après assez d’efforts, le chauffeur a trouvé un restaurant populaire pas loin de l’hôtel; après avoir vérifié qu’au moins un plat à base de tofu puant était servi, il est parti en refusant d’accepter qu’une partie de ce que le taximètre indiquait. En très peu de temps, je me suis trouvé face à un festin destiné qu’à moi, consistant en un ensemble de petits plats, y inclus du poisson salé, des grandes feuilles ressemblant à la menthe (mais en beaucoup mieux), et, bien sûr, du 청국장.

Ce dernier ne puait pas du tout; il avait plutôt un bouquet qui ressemblait à ceux de certain fromages, a savoir ceux dont on dit qu’ils puent.


Something that truly excited me about Korea was the possibility to use my newly-found knowlege of the Korean script. Indeed, it really helped me to get around, even without any actual knowledge of Korean. I had studied the Korean script twice: once, when Don Zagier taught me the basic principles in twenty minutes after dinner at the British Mathematical Colloquium; the second time, when I skimmed the wikipedia page on it on the morning of the day when I flew to Korea.

As you might have gathered, it is, so to speak, very logical – in fact, it was designed specifically for the Korean language, by a small committee of rather talented 15th-century people. The name it was given once by some (아침글, “one-morning writing”) was presumably meant to be pejorative, but it does reflect how quickly one can learn it. Or, to put it in a much more complex script, 故智者不終朝而會,愚者可浹旬而學 (or so I read).

A mystery remains: why is it that, in Korea, good local food is cheap, as are alcoholic drinks, but coffee is expensive? Or is this just the price that people pay to be seen in a Westernized coffee shop – that is, can one get less expensive coffee elsewhere?

About valuevar

I am a number theorist with side interests in combinatorics and group theory.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hangul and stinky tofu

  1. samuel says:

    C’était sûrement des feuille de sésame.

  2. sienimfallorsum says:

    Wow, it’s really delightful and new for me to see my country’s food and Hangul at mathematician’s blog! I’m a Korean who like math and study by myself. I was trying to read your impression of Korean trip, but I couldn’t since I don’t know how to read French. But I thought about your mistery for a moment. As a person who usually spend my free time at Cafe, my conclusion is like this. Yes, there are a lot of franchises at which you could purchase coffee much cheaper than you could at some other cafe such as Starbucks. The later one’s price is more expensive than almost twice of the former ones. But I think that the expensive price of coffee already include the the price of the right to take some seat in the Cafe. Of course, there are another factors which contribute coffee to be expensive.
    haha, could you take a moment for a few silly but serious question?
    I want to be good and have fluency at math, unfortunately, I’m not. Searching about your proof of Goldbach conjecture, I read your profile, and my attention was attrated by one word really strongly. That was “I’m a number theorist BY TRAINING.” I have heard a lot of time there is no royal road to mathematics. but if you really have built you mathematical ability by training, could you tell me your “effective” road to mathematics? for example, how to deal with when stuck on problems or facing some difficult concepts. then it will be very helpful to me.
    Thanks in advance for your kind answer. and I hope you have a nice research and wonderful time. also someday talk with you about math by Korean!

Leave a comment