What I did on my summer vacation

Back in July, I spent some time in Goettingen. As most readers of this blog, it is an old university town with plenty of history – Gauss, Riemann, Hilbert and their friends
all worked and lived there. There was a rather nice workshop on the circle method, and we all had coffee somewhere between the display cases of a nifty collection of mathematical instruments from the pre-digital era.

How to take an inverse Fourier transform in the nineteenth century.

The anti-fascist coffeehouse in the basement had a pleasant atmosphere. On the minus side, (a) I had an unremitting and highly demonstrative case of allergies, (b) the prevalence of memorial plaques and buildings honouring Otto von Bismarck.

As for my home territory – when my parents came to visit, we took a quick trip to Lyon, where we found out that somebody had taken ideas from the Parque de la Reserva.

It might, just might have happened the other way around.

Lastly, here is a picture I took in front of the Sorbonne, especially for the delight of my brother and his fellow anthropology students.

Á quelques pas de la place Foucault.

About valuevar

I am a number theorist with side interests in combinatorics and group theory.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

