Literature and synchronicity

On Thursday evening, I was ten minutes late to a reading of the poetry of Tomas Tranströmer. I was not the only one late; going first into the elevator, I noticed that the person going with me was Vargas Llosa.

“Me siento menos mal de llegar diez minutos tarde,” said I.

“Es que la manifestacion esta bloqueando la calle hasta [Madrid toponym]…”, explained Vargas Llosa.

I was trumped, though, the following day, when I retold my interesting conversation at the local maths department. Another person had once stepped on Cortazar’s shoes.

“Me estas pisando los pies”, dijo Cortazar.

I am a little disappointed that he had exactly two.

Correction: The person involved in the second anecdote reports that Cortazar’s exact words were: “Estas caminando sobre mis zapatos”. Much more poetical!

About valuevar

I am a number theorist with side interests in combinatorics and group theory.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Literature and synchronicity

  1. … please have in mind that a very tall person (as Julio C. was indeed) usually wears big shoes, and so it was not a big challenge to ‘step in Cortazar’s shoes’ once the circumstances drove me close to him.

  2. norkuat says:

    No le pediste un autografo? :D

Leave a Reply

